Professional Development


Find and create professional development opportunities for EDEN delegates and encourage professional development in disaster education.

Committee’s Charge

  • Produce 6-8 webinars yearly,
  • Name one reviewer to the Annual Meeting review panel. The review panel will score presentation and poster proposals for the EDEN annual meeting, and
  • Provide the Post-Session Workshop at Annual Meeting


Open to all delegates. The committee meets on the first Wednesday of every month at 11AM Eastern.

The Professional Development Committee Recommend Trainings for All Delegates

Committee Leadership Roles and responsibilities


  • Plan and conduct monthly committee calls
  • Send out communications to committee members and delegates as needed
  • Coordinate committee produced webinars in partnership with the EDEN Support Team
  • Representative of Professional Development Committee on the EDEN Executive committee
    • Attend EDEN Executive committee monthly call (third Thursday, 3 pm Est.)
    • Attend EDEN Executive Committee Mid-Winter Board Meeting (February or March in-person)
    • Attend EDEN Executive Committee Meeting at Annual Meeting
  • Submit monthly and yearly Reports
  • Appoint subcommittees and committee working groups as needed
  • Attend the Annual Meeting
  • Coordinate other projects as needed
  • The chair can serve up to 3 consecutive terms

Vice Chair

  • The vice-chair shall assume the duties of the chair in the chair’s absence
  • Send out communications to committee members and delegate as needed
  • Representative of Professional Development committee on the EDEN Annual Meeting committee
    • Attend Annual Meeting committee monthly calls (Fourth Friday, 12:00 pm Est.)
    • Name one reviewer to the Annual Meeting review panel
    • Determine and coordinate the Annual Meeting post-session workshop in partnership with Purdue staff
  • Coordinate other projects as needed
  • Attend the Annual Meeting
  • Elected to a one-year term
  • May be elected as chair-elect if the chair is beginning a third consecutive term or planning to step down at the end of their next term
    • If elected as chair-elect, the committee will only hold a vice-chair election in June. The chair-elect will automatically assume the chair at the next Annual Meeting.


Profile image of Kimberly Davis

Kimberly Davis

Job Title: Extension Agent
Office Phone: (850) 412-6515
Cell Phone: (850) 212-9010
Delegate Type: Point of Contact (POC)
Institution: Florida A&M University

Committee Members

Last Name First Name Institution
Sengupta Debalina Texas Sea Grant
Sellers Cameron Kentucky State University
Hodgson Suzy University of Vermont
Landeis Katelyn North Dakota State University
Patent-Nygren Megan University of Nebraska-Lincoln
Smoot-Baker Ashlie Kentucky State University
Holinshead Erin University of Illinois
Eaddy Allison University of Georgia
Bowie Maria University of Georgia
Brown Virginia University of Georgia
Kirkland Brittani Penn State University
Hubbard Bill Maryland Sea Grant
Hoffman William USDA National Institute of Food & Agriculture
Hyde Glenda Oregon State University
Yandow Cathy University of Vermont
Rizza John Oregon State University, Oregon State University Extension
Kocher Susan University of California
Gmeinder Gwen University of Minnesota
Jensen Michael Washington State University
Ira Gregory UC California Naturalist Program
Friend Duane University of Illinois
Estwick Noel Prairie View A&M University
Tannehill Linda
Davis Kimberly Florida A&M University
Black Lynette Oregon State University
Bearnes Kim University of Nebraska-Lincoln
Hilbun-Benoit Anne-Howard Mississippi State University
Griffith Rick New Mexico State University
Davis Tim University of Georgia
Skjolaas Cheryl University of Wisconsin
Nelson Sherry University of Missouri
Yoder Mike North Carolina State University
Burnham Conne University of Missouri
McKillip Carrie University of Illinois
Mueller Ashley USDA National Institute of Food & Agriculture
Lillpop Abby Purdue University
El Afandi Gamal Tuskegee University
Lovelace Susan South Carolina Sea Grant Consortium